Pakistan Academy of Sciences

Promoting Science, Technology and Innovation for Socio-economic development

Asghari Maqsood

Asghari Maqsood
Current Position Dean, Faculty of Basic and Applied Sciences, Air University, PAF Complex, E-9, Islamabad Phone No. (92-51) 920855203
Born in Jhang, Pakistan in 09/15/1947 Year Elected 2010
Email [email protected]
Dhaka University: BSc (Hons) in Physics (1966-1970); University of the Punjab: MSc in Physics (1972); Oxford University: MSc in Experimental Solid State Physics (1979);Gothenburg University, Sweden: PhD (1982).
Positions Held
Lecturer, Quaid-i-Azam University (1973-1982); Asst. Professor, (1982-1987); Associate Professor (1987-1993); Professor (1993 -2005); Professor and Chairperson of the Department of Physics (2001-2002); Meritorious Prof. of Physics (2005 to present); Tenured Professor (July 2007);Regular Visiting Faculty Professor, NUST (2008 -2013);Head of Department of Materials Eng (Sept-Dec 2008); Head of Physics UG Program at NUST (2008-2009); Professor of Physics, Center for Emerging Sciences and Technology, Islamabad (2013 -2014); Professor of Physics, Air University, Islamabad (2014-2015); Dean Faculty of Basic and Applied Sciences, Air University, Islamabad (2015 to date); Prof. Emeritus, Air University (2015).
Z.A. Hashmi Gold Medal by Pakistan Science Foundation(2014); Life Time Achievement Award by Pakistan Vacuum Society(2013); Sitara-i-Imtiazby President of Pakistan(2011); Izaz-i-Fazeelat by Government of Pakistan (2005);Prime Minister Gold Medal on World Teacher Day (2004); HEC Best University Teacher Award (2002); PCST Research Productivity Award (2002-2014); Pride of Performance, by Government of Pakistan(2001); Gold Medal by Pakistan Academy of Sciences and INFAQ Foundation Prize (2000); South Asian Publication Award ‘Star Women 1994’; Gold Medal by University of the Punjab on 1st position in MSc(1972);Academic Roll of Honour, University of the Punjab(1972); Merit Scholarship from primary school to PhD.
Fellowships / Memberships
Associate Member of ICTP (1992-1997); Member, International Crystallographic Society; Fellow, World Innovation Foundation since (2002); Life Member, Pakistan Institute of Physics; Life Member, Pakistan Physical Society; Life Member, Pakistan Vacuum Society; Fellow, Pakistan Nuclear Society (2002); Elective Member, Thin Film Division (TFD) of the IUVSTA (2010); Member, Oxford and Cambridge Society, Pakistan.
Research Area
Transient Hot Strip(THS) and Transient Plane Source (TPS) techniques; Thermal transport properties of solids and liquids;High- Tc superconductors, Nanoferrites, nanoparticles, electrical, dielectric and magnetic properties; Thin films of group II-VI semiconductors; Solar cells .Single crystal growth by flux method; Nano-composites.
Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. Designed & Developed by Aiwatech