Pakistan Academy of Sciences

Promoting Science, Technology and Innovation for Socio-economic development

Introduction to the Academy

It is generally recognized that any progressive country, which aspires to occupy a befitting place in the comity of nations, encourages the establishment of a supreme scientific organization, usually designated as the “Academy of Sciences” devoted to the promotion of science and its applications for the general welfare of humanity. While these organizations may not carry out actual researches, they do provide a forum for the advancement of scientific research, popularization of science, motivation of scientists and technologists, as well as encourage and promote studies in new areas of S&T.

As utmost importance is attached to the membership of such an academy, only scientists of the highest merit, who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of scientific knowledge, are elected its Fellows. The Academy is regarded by the public and the government as a repository of the highest scientific talent available in the country and is generally supported and consulted in all matters relating to scientific education, research and development.

The idea of establishing the Pakistan Academy of Sciences was mooted in November 1947 at the 1st National Educational Conference held at Karachi. Subsequently, nine eminent scientists were elected as Founding Fellows of the proposed Academy. One of the Founding Fellows, Dr. M. Raziuddin Siddiqi, draſted the Charter of the Academy which was approved. The Pakistan Academy of Sciences was inaugurated by the then Prime Minister of Pakistan, Khwaja Nazimuddin, on 16th February 1953, during 5th Pakistan Science Conference at Lahore. On 19th February 1953, the Founding Fellows elected Prof. M. Afzal Hussain as President and Dr. M. Raziuddin Siddiqi as Secretary of the Academy.

The Academy is a non-governmental and non-political supreme scientific body of distinguished scientists in the country. The Government of Pakistan has given the consultative and advisory status to the Academy “on all problems relating to the development of scientific efforts in the country”, and “generally on such matters of national and international importance in the field of science as may be referred to the Academy”. The affairs of the Academy are regulated by its Charter and Bye-Laws approved by the Fellows.

The Academy is governed by a Council that includes its President, two Vice Presidents, Secretary-General, Associate Secretary-General and Treasurer. At present, there are 87 Fellows, 34 Foreign Fellows, and 27 Members, who have been elected by the General Body. The President and Secretary General of the Pakistan Academy of Sciences are Prof. Dr. Kauser Abdullah Malik and Prof. Dr. M. Aslam Baig.

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. Designed & Developed by Aiwatech